4.67m x 3.00m max (15'4 x 9'10 max)
Window to side with views of the 12th Century remains of St Giles Hospital, radiator, exposed beams to one wall, wood flooring, door to walk in wardrobe with radiator and door to
En Suite Bathroom
2.16m x 1.63m (7'1 x 5'4)
Window, heated towel rail, white suite comprising spa bath with shower mixer tap, low level WC, circular wash hand basin with mixer tap set onto counter top with cupboard below.
4.45m x 3.66m (14'7 x 12')
Window to side, radiator, access to loft space, exposed beams, door to walk in cupboard.
3.66m x 2.34m (12' x 7'8)
Window with views of the 12th Century remains of St Giles Hospital, radiator, exposed floor boards.
2.18m x 1.68m (7'2 x 5'6)
Window to rear, panelled bath with mixer tap, low level WC, circular wash hand basin set onto counter top with mixer tap and cupboard under, heated towel rail, tiled floor, delightful exposed beams, part tiled to walls.
Split level landing accessing first floor accommodation, access to loft storage area, delightful exposed beams, stairs down to:
Part glazed door to front with glazed windows to front and side, and a tiled entrance area with window to side and access through to the study, remainder of the Entrance Hall has wood flooring, radiator. Exposed brick chimney breast and attractive beams to the ceiling, under stairs storage cupboard and a further storage cupboard, doors to further accommodation including:
6.20m x 1.68m (20'4 x 5'6)
Door to side and window to side, two radiators, spotlights to ceiling.
2.13m x 1.40m (7' x 4'7)
Window, tiled walls with wall mounted shower, wash hand basin, low level WC, heated towel rail. Extractor fan.
3.33m x 2.01m (10'11 x 6'7)
Wall mounted boiler, corner circular sink unit, window and door to side, range of matching units, space for American style fridge freezer, tiled to floor, some exposed beams radiator, open to:
4.04m max x 3.61m max (13'3 max x 11'10 max)
Two windows to rear, window to side, range of base and wall cabinets with stainless steel work surfaces, double sink drainer unit, space for range cooker with extracting hood above and stainless steel splash back, exposed beams to ceiling, storage shelves set within inset fire surround , heated towel rail, storage cupboard built into wall, space for dishwasher. Part tiled to walls and tiled floor.
4.78m x 4.27m (15'8 x 14')
Dual aspect windows to front and side, two radiators, wood flooring, brick fireplace, exposed beams, television point.
4.01m x 3.94m (13'2 x 12'11)
Window to side, Feature fireplace with fire basket and period style coving and dado rail, wood flooring, radiator, walk in storage cupboard, glazed door to:
This delightful room offers stunning views across the rear garden, with sliding door to side and sliding window to rear, radiator, wood effect flooring.
37.49m x 17.37m max (123' x 57' max)
This impressive rear garden offers paved seating area with well stocked shrub and flower borders, outside tap and lights, further paved patio seating area to the side of the conservatory, with side access to the front via timber double gates to driveway and storage shed, door to garage, remainder mainly laid to lawn with planting borders and a range of established trees and shrubs. There is also a vegetable garden to the end of the plot.
There is parking on the driveway for 2/3 vehicles, leading to the garage and also double gates into the rear garden.
5.51m x 3.40m (18'1 x 11'2)
Up and Over door with power and lighting. Double glazed window to side.
A Short History Of St Giles Hospital
St Giles Hospital, was probably founded by Henry II in the twelfth century. In 1481, it was granted by Edward IV to Beeleigh Abbey together with about 90 acres of land.
As with Beeleigh Abbey, St Giles' was closed at the dissolution of the monasteries under Henry VIII and became part of a barn complex at Spital Farm. This use continued until about 1910 when the roof collapsed. In 1913 the dilapidated barns were pulled down to once again reveal the remains of the hospital. The ruins remained in a dangerous state until purchased by Mr Thomas of Beeleigh Abbey in 1925 and presented to the Maldon Corporation who completed the restoration work in June 1927.
The Historic town of Maldon sits proudly on a hill but no visit to the district would be complete without a visit to the popular Hythe Quay, where many Thames Barges have been lovingly restored by devoted owners, some are still in use commercially as charter vessels. The Hythe Quay offers historic pubs incorporating The Queens Head and Jolly Sailor both offering fine food. The Edwardian Promenade close to Hythe Quay enjoys stunning riverside walks and large amenity areas, including a children’s splash park, which is ideal for picnics and family days out. Maldon’s Historic High Street offers a unique and individual shopping experience and a Marks & Spencer’s simply food, along with many coffee shops and restaurants.
Further information can be found by visiting “www.itsaboutmaldon.co.uk” .
Maldon offers impressive educational facilities with the Plume secondary school recently being given academy status. Maldon is situated on the River Blackwater, but is only 10.6 miles approx from Chelmsford, 6.8 miles approx from Witham railway station giving direct access to London’s Liverpool street station. The A12 leading to London is an approx. 15/20 minute drive, and access to the A127 and A13 is via the A130.
These particulars do not constitute any part of an offer or contract. All measurements are approximate. No responsibility is accepted as to the accuracy of these particulars or statements made by our staff concerning the above property. We have not tested any apparatus or equipment therefore cannot verify that they are in good working order. Any intending purchaser must satisfy him/herself as to the correctness of such statements within these particulars. All negotiations to be conducted through Church and Hawes. No enquiries have been made with the local authorities pertaining to planning permission or building regulations. Any buyer should seek verification from their legal representative or surveyor.